PM Imran Khan ousted in parliament confidence vote


April 10, 2022: The vote on the joint resolution of opposition parties’ no-confidence against Prime Minister Imran Khan started here on Saturday in the National Assembly.

Speaker Asad Qaiser, who was the Speaker, formally announced his resignation as Speaker and invited a member of the Panel of Speakers Ayaz Sadiq to chair the House’s work. The chairman asks to vote on the motion of no confidence tabled by opposition leader Mian Muhammad Shehbaz Sharif on March 28, 2022.

He asked for a simple division for and against the resolution for the counting of members in the 341-seat House (excluding one seat that became vacant following the death of MNA Khayal Zaman Orakzai).

Opposition leader Shehbaz Sharif and PPPP chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari were also present in the House. However, all the legislators of the Treasury Banks except Chied Whip Aamir Dogar and State Minister for Parliamentary Affairs Ali Muhammad Khan left the House.

The vote on the resolution for a motion of no confidence against the Prime Minister under Article 37 of the Rules of Procedure of the National Assembly 2007 will be held in accordance with the provisions of the second schedule.

The second schedule states that the chairman will instruct that the bells be rung five minutes before the start of the vote so that Members who are not in the room can be present. Immediately after the bells stop ringing, all entrances to the lobby will be locked and meeting staff at any entrance will not allow entry or exit through those entrances until the vote is over.

The President then reads the resolution to the Assembly and asks the members who wish to vote for the resolution to pass in one file through the entrance where tellers will be placed to record the votes. Upon reaching the tellers’ counter, each member takes turns calling out the department number assigned to them according to the rules. The tellers will then mark his number on the share list and mention the member’s name at the same time. To ensure that his vote is registered correctly, the member does not leave until he has heard the teller clearly calling his name. After a member has recorded his vote, he does not return to the hall until the bells are rung.

When the chairman finds that all members who wished to vote have recorded their votes, he announces that the voting has ended. Thereafter, the secretary will have the distribution list collected, the registered votes counted and the result of the counting presented to the chairman. The chairman then orders that the bells be rung for two minutes to allow the members to return to the room. After the bells have stopped ringing, the chairman will announce the result to the meeting.

According to the official data on the National Assembly website, the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has a total of 155 seats (general 122, reserved 28 and minority 5), the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) 84 seats (General 66, reserved 16 and minority 2), Pakistan People’s Party of Parliament (PPPP) 56 seats (General 45, reserved 9 and minority 2), Independent MNAs four seats, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan (MMAP) 15 seats ( General 12, Reserved 2 and Minority 1), Pakistan Muslim League (PML-Q) five seats (General 4 and Reserved 1), Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQMP) seven seats (General 6 and Reserved 1), Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA ) three seats (General 2 and Reserved 1), Awami Muslim League Pakistan (AMLP) one seat, Balochistan National Party (BNP) four seats (General 3 and Reserved 1), Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) five seats (General 4 and Reserved 1), Awami National Party (ANP) one seat, Jamhoori Wattan Party (JW P) one seat.

Rule 38 of the 2007 Rules of Procedure in the National Assembly further states that a confidence vote resolution under rule 36 has been passed or rejected, as the case may be, or a no confidence resolution under rule 36 37 has been passed. The chairman shall immediately notify the chairman of the result in writing and the secretary shall publish an announcement in the Government Gazette.


This post PM Imran Khan ousted in parliament confidence vote was original published at “”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here